top of page
  • Writer's pictureDisabilityAware

I was oblivious...

Two years ago, I was oblivious to what people with Tourette’s had to deal with on a day to day basis. I simply thought, like many others believe, that it is just a bit of swearing. I knew it was involuntary but my brain wasn’t comprehending that this was a possibility. That people could do something against their will and that they couldn’t control what they did, much less didn’t want to do it but had to anyway. Now however, I know how ignorant I was. It was only a year ago that I believed Tourette’s was the thing that made you swear. In that year my perception has changed. I now realise that it can make you not only talk, but move involuntarily. I found out that these movements can cause immense pain and bring danger into ones life. I didn’t realise that these movements could be as severe as holding your breath until you went purple. I didn’t realise that hitting yourself or others until there is a bruise or a broken bone could be a possibility. I didn’t realise that having the urge to run in front of cars or jump off bridges could be part of this ‘swearing condition’. And I’m sure you didn’t realise any of this either... I have almost stabbed myself countless times. I broke my first bone during a tic attack, when I couldn’t stop kicking things with all my strength on the tube and at the cafe. I constantly spill drinks over myself and others because I spill it when pouring or throw it without a lid being on. I’ve had to throw things at my Dad causing his nose to swell up and his head to gain a temporary and painful lump. I thump my head and fall to the floor and recently when I walk I find myself having to hit 1 knee against the ground before getting back up just to do it again. Yesterday I almost jumped off a bridge, and would have if my Mum didn’t hold me and get me away. And it’s scary, but I could have killed myself countless times due to my Tourette’s.  I can’t control any of this, but somehow it has become a natural thing. It happens constantly and with each day comes more tics, more danger and more fear. Tourette’s isn’t just swearing. It’s a debilitating disorder and those with it need to be understood - it’s anxiety driven and therefore the best way to help us is to show the world why we act the way we do, and that we can’t control it

9 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

So you wish you had Tourette's?

Tourette's is one of those conditions that everybody says they want. "I could swear whenever I want", "if I mess up, I can just say it was a tic", "I'll get away with everything". To the people that s

Tourette's Speech

For my English A-Level class, I have to write a 3-4 minute speech on a subject I am passionate about. Of course, I chose disability advocacy. In particular, "Why Tourette's should not be used as a pun

Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page