top of page
  • Writer's pictureDisabilityAware

What is a Tic?

A tic is an involuntary repeated movement or sound. They can occur in any part of the body and they are split into two categories - motor tics and vocal tics A motor tic is something to do with physical movements. Some examples could include blinking, eye rolling, shoulder shrugging, head jerking, jumping, twirling and touching objects or people A vocal tic is something to do with talking or making sounds. Some of these can include throat clearing, sniffing, howling, barking, tongue clicking, grunting, making animal sounds, whistling, saying random words, repeating sounds, words and phrases Tourette's appears differently in everybody. We are all unique and so are our tics. Some people may have mainly vocal tics, some mainly motor, some a mix of the two and some may have tics that are harder to see (such as toe curling or blinking) The tics that most affect me are the vocal ones. I swear at people, insult them, shout random stuff and I can get pretty loud. I can’t control any of this and it couldn’t be further from my personality. People with Tourette's can seem rude, especially when their tics find a way to fit in mid-sentence. It is imperative to know that tics will most likely bother the one doing them MUCH more than it bothers you. It is involuntary and telling them to stop is like somebody telling you to stop coughing or sneezing - it can’t be done

7 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

So you wish you had Tourette's?

Tourette's is one of those conditions that everybody says they want. "I could swear whenever I want", "if I mess up, I can just say it was a tic", "I'll get away with everything". To the people that s

Tourette's Speech

For my English A-Level class, I have to write a 3-4 minute speech on a subject I am passionate about. Of course, I chose disability advocacy. In particular, "Why Tourette's should not be used as a pun

Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page