top of page
  • Writer's pictureDisabilityAware

Positives of lockdown

Covid-19 has brought on some sudden and drastic changes for everybody. I am in no way insensitive and unaware of the tragedies and hurt it has caused, along with major disruption to people's lives. To anybody who this has impacted on a personal level, my thoughts are with you.

I found myself focusing on the negatives of this situation and it wasn't doing me any favours in the mental health department. Isolation is not easy, lockdown is not easy but there have been positives and I feel that it is imperative that we try to concentrate on these whilst we currently can't see any light. Here is my new, brighter, perspective on the lockdown...


- The World is always moving. People are busy, people are working and they expect you to adhere to the same standards and work ethics. Even as a neurotypical this can be stressful but, as somebody with additional needs, I find that I have to try and 'catch up' with the outside world, whilst battling my own demons and meeting my self-set goals. Lockdown has given me a chance to organise aspects of my life that I couldn't get control of in our 'normal' world. Everybody has been forced to stop and that has given me a chance to do things at my own pace without having to worry about opinions and judgement.


- I have come to realise the things that are genuinely important to me. I have become less focused on materialistic things and I am now embracing the value of time with my Family. Not all of us have that luxury. Two immediate Family members are keyworkers, so we can't see them right now. Another set of Family live hours away. I am greatful to be able to phone them and video call with them.


- Productivity. I, with my Family, have taken this opportunity to organise and work on the space we have. We have worked in the garden and made it a comfortable, community space. We have worked in the inside, making it even more homely whilst also getting around to the jobs that we would otherwise put off. I have figured out the best way for me to learn, and I am making steps forward regarding Maths and my future.


- Finally, relaxation. I know that, if I need it, I can binge watch shows, sleep in, be a 'couch potato' or do non-productive activities. Again, the word has temporarily stopped. This has been a chance for me to catch up and recouperate.

Lockdown is not easy. It can be boring, it can be emotional and it can be scary. However, it is happening for the foreseeable future and this is why I am shedding light on the positives. We can do this. Work together as a community and we will fight coronavirus. It won't be a quick fix and it isn't going to be easy, but let's focus on the positives and get ourselves through, the best we can.

21 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Saying Goodbye to 2020

For all of us, 2020 has proved possibly one of the most challenging years we as a generation will ever have to face. The media is inundated with Coronavirus news and worldly disasters. This post is no

Tourette's Speech

For my English A-Level class, I have to write a 3-4 minute speech on a subject I am passionate about. Of course, I chose disability advocacy. In particular, "Why Tourette's should not be used as a pun

Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page