top of page
  • Writer's pictureDisabilityAware

Selective Mutism affects more than communication

There is much more to Selective Mutism that the inability to speak. Each individual is different and SM effects us all differently. Some people with SM will have difficulties with non-verbal communication, sensory processing, eating or doing other activities in front of others.


This is because Selective Mutism is an anxiety disorder. The points listed above can all be anxiety-provoking, hence why doing suck tasks can be even more difficult for people with an Selective Mutism.


When my anxiety is heightened, I find it difficult to type in order to communicate. I find it hard to show pain, answer questions by nodding or shaking my head and I find it difficult to eat around people I don't know. Many others with SM will also find these things challenging, some may find them impossible and others may find them easy.

4 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Selective Mutism Fundraising

2020 is the year for acceptance! My Selective Mutism started at the age of 12. This is just after I had left school. I started struggling to speak to waiters and shopkeepers. I’d try to speak but it w

Selective Mutism Fundraising!

Fundraising link My name is Ally and I have a condition called Selective Mutism (SM). I don’t know if you’ve ever stuck your fingers together with glue, maybe when you were younger. Or possibly tighte

My Selective Mutism Story

I used to be the most talkative child. It didn’t matter if I knew someone or not, I would hold a conversation about anything and go on for ages. I still do that, but now it is only physically possible

Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page