top of page
  • Writer's pictureDisabilityAware

Selective Mutism and other conditions

Selective mutism is more likely to occur with people who have a family history of anxiety Some people likely to develop SM can include those that have a stutter, those with processing difficulties, people that have Autism or OCD, people with dyspraxia that affects their speech - all sorts of other disabilities. These can make speaking more difficult and anxiety provoking, for some it can be harder to know how to communicate and SM, being a speech and anxiety condition, is more likely to generate when such issues are already present Two conditions, such as selective mutism and autism, can co-exist without being the cause of the other. Somebody with Autism can have selective mutism but it doesn’t mean the two are necessarily connected. SM can be a stand-alone condition, but when difficulties from other disorders (like the ones mentioned above) affect speech, it is more likely to progress and develop

16 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Selective Mutism Fundraising

2020 is the year for acceptance! My Selective Mutism started at the age of 12. This is just after I had left school. I started struggling to speak to waiters and shopkeepers. I’d try to speak but it w

Selective Mutism Fundraising!

Fundraising link My name is Ally and I have a condition called Selective Mutism (SM). I don’t know if you’ve ever stuck your fingers together with glue, maybe when you were younger. Or possibly tighte

My Selective Mutism Story

I used to be the most talkative child. It didn’t matter if I knew someone or not, I would hold a conversation about anything and go on for ages. I still do that, but now it is only physically possible

Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page