top of page
  • Writer's pictureDisabilityAware

Selective Mutism Awareness Month

It is Selective Mutism (SM) awareness month! This month I will be posting facts and personal experiences with the condition. First, here is a quick explanation, which I will build upon in the upcoming days


Selective Mutism is an anxiety disorder that renders somebody unable to speak in certain situations. The name of this condition doesn’t do it any favours because the ‘selective’ part of selective mutism is not referring to the choice to not speak, but rather the involuntary silence in select situations, or with select people.


If somebody with Selective Mutism can speak to you, it doesn’t necessarily mean that they are able to say everything fluently and openly. For instance, I find it difficult to express my emotions or say certain words regardless of who I am talking to.


Additionally, it is important to know that we are not trying to be difficult or attention seeking. Usually, we want nothing more than to be able to speak. When pressure to do so is added, speaking becomes even more challenging and, the condition, even more isolating. It can be frustrating for you but please know that is even more frustrating for us.

24 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Selective Mutism Fundraising

2020 is the year for acceptance! My Selective Mutism started at the age of 12. This is just after I had left school. I started struggling to speak to waiters and shopkeepers. I’d try to speak but it w

Selective Mutism Fundraising!

Fundraising link My name is Ally and I have a condition called Selective Mutism (SM). I don’t know if you’ve ever stuck your fingers together with glue, maybe when you were younger. Or possibly tighte

My Selective Mutism Story

I used to be the most talkative child. It didn’t matter if I knew someone or not, I would hold a conversation about anything and go on for ages. I still do that, but now it is only physically possible

Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page