top of page
  • Writer's pictureDisabilityAware

What does Selective Mutism feel like?

The Autism side of me makes it hard to describe the emotions related to SM. If I had to choose a word, I would go with frustrating. I’m about to talk more about the physical feeling though, because that is something tricky to understand. I’ve heard stuff like ‘I know you’re selective with who you talk to’, ‘when you want to talk to me’ and ‘when you choose to talk to me I’ll be so happy’. I want to emphasise that the name of this condition doesn’t do it any favours. The ‘selective’ part of selective mutism isn’t referring to the choice not to speak to people, but rather the involuntary silence in select situations. I don’t know if you’ve ever stuck your fingers together with glue, maybe when you were younger. Or possibly tightened a tap too much making it extremely difficult to turn the other way the next time you use it. That is what it’s like to have SM. The words are there and we want to say them more than you know, but for some reason we become incapable of uttering even a sound when in a situation that is unfamiliar or anxiety provoking

13 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Selective Mutism Fundraising

2020 is the year for acceptance! My Selective Mutism started at the age of 12. This is just after I had left school. I started struggling to speak to waiters and shopkeepers. I’d try to speak but it w

Selective Mutism Fundraising!

Fundraising link My name is Ally and I have a condition called Selective Mutism (SM). I don’t know if you’ve ever stuck your fingers together with glue, maybe when you were younger. Or possibly tighte

My Selective Mutism Story

I used to be the most talkative child. It didn’t matter if I knew someone or not, I would hold a conversation about anything and go on for ages. I still do that, but now it is only physically possible

Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page