top of page
  • Writer's pictureDisabilityAware

What is Selective Mutism?

Selective mutism (SM) is an extreme anxiety disorder in which a person is incapable of speaking to certain people or in select situations. It isn’t to be confused with shyness, because somebody with selective mutism usually wants nothing more than to be able to communicate vocally. However, sometimes, they are physically incapable of doing so SM is a freeze response that is triggered by anxiety provoking situations. This means that in a comfortable environment and with familiar people, those with SM will usually be able to communicate just like anybody else. When presented with new and/or unfamiliar situations, they most likely won’t be capable of speaking and when there is pressure to talk it only gets worse

10 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Selective Mutism Fundraising

2020 is the year for acceptance! My Selective Mutism started at the age of 12. This is just after I had left school. I started struggling to speak to waiters and shopkeepers. I’d try to speak but it w

Selective Mutism Fundraising!

Fundraising link My name is Ally and I have a condition called Selective Mutism (SM). I don’t know if you’ve ever stuck your fingers together with glue, maybe when you were younger. Or possibly tighte

My Selective Mutism Story

I used to be the most talkative child. It didn’t matter if I knew someone or not, I would hold a conversation about anything and go on for ages. I still do that, but now it is only physically possible

Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page