top of page
  • Writer's pictureDisabilityAware

When depression hides behind a smile

This is a very thought-provoking article regarding depression and the ways in which it hides behind a smile. The perception of individuals smiling despite their depression is that it isn't as bad or debilitating as somebody who cannot put one on. I hadn't thought about it myself, despite personally experiencing depression, but this perception is dangerously misconstrued to mean something it doesn't and can be harmful to individuals such as myself who do put on a smile even in their darkest days. Well worth a read!


https://www.theguardian.com/commentisfree/2021/mar/18/depression-smile-psychiatrists-mental-health-problems?fbclid=IwAR3cOydX9yvuYlCEEivRmCQcSU8nUQ0eib2qvarAovEZspllyppGAEDk4Ro

10 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Medication: How it helped me

I realise that the majority of my posts are about Tourette's and Selective Mutism. However, I do have many other conditions and I feel it is important to talk about those, too. I was asked today about

Covid-19 and Autism Friendliness

In the midst of this current crisis, the chaos in supermarkets has overshadowed the Autism friendliness that they all ensued only a few months before. Whilst I am fully aware that this change in clima

"The Shower" - Panic Attack Creative Writing

This is a piece of writing I did for an English AS level task. We were given the title "the shower" and had to turn this into a 600-900 word story about a sudden rain fall. Here is mine, based on a pa

Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page