top of page
  • Writer's pictureDisabilityAware

Mental health. Time to be honest

Mental health isn’t something many people talk about. However, it is something that a great deal of us battle on a daily basis. There are so many reasons why we don’t talk about it. Perhaps we don’t want to show vulnerability or admit the struggle to ourselves. It becomes real that way and, when it becomes real, it becomes something you need to deal with and face.

When it comes to my mental health, I have always been reserved and hesitant to share it with anybody else. There is an aspect to that where I don’t want to appear vulnerable in a world that already sees me as less capable. I, also, don’t like to admit the truth to myself. This is because it then becomes scary and a part of my life that suddenly becomes common knowledge. I can’t control what other people talk and gossip about, but I can control what I say. Keeping it to myself is the only way to be sure it stays private.


Another huge reason that I am reluctant to share this information is because I want to protect other people. Once I share information about my head and my thoughts, it then affects that Persons life as well. Whether that’s in a large way or not, there will be some aspect of them that is consumed by this knowledge. Perhaps it makes them worry, angry, happy, upset - anything they feel, some of it will be because of the knowledge I just shared with them.


I’m late for mental health awareness week. Though, that doesn’t mean we should stop raising awareness. It’s time for me to be honest. I struggle with mental health on a large level. My future posts will talk about the ways in which it consumes me.


I am very aware that some of my friends and family read my posts. I am also aware that other vulnerable people could be reading as well. Please be mindful that the things I write in the future could be upsetting or triggering. I will do my best to warn about this at the beginning of a blog, but please don’t read if you think it will effect you in a bad way.

11 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Medication: How it helped me

I realise that the majority of my posts are about Tourette's and Selective Mutism. However, I do have many other conditions and I feel it is important to talk about those, too. I was asked today about

When depression hides behind a smile

This is a very thought-provoking article regarding depression and the ways in which it hides behind a smile. The perception of individuals smiling despite their depression is that it isn't as bad or d

Covid-19 and Autism Friendliness

In the midst of this current crisis, the chaos in supermarkets has overshadowed the Autism friendliness that they all ensued only a few months before. Whilst I am fully aware that this change in clima

Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page