top of page
  • Writer's pictureDisabilityAware

What is Disability?

Previously, I would have described it as a condition or disease that makes aspects of a person’s life more difficult. Though this is somewhat true, I now feel that the term ‘disability’ stands for much more. When people are faced with a condition, they adapt. They learn to live in a different way and make the necessary changes and adjustments to their environment. The outside world doesn’t do this. Instead, we are expected to find alternatives ourselves and sometimes this isn’t possible. We frequently have to miss out on opportunities because there isn’t the right accessibility, there aren’t the right adjustments and there’s no flexibility for those that need it. This is what defines a disability. I am not disabled by my Tourette’s. What disables me is the reactions and judgment I receive from the public. The inability and unwillingness to accept me for who I am and what I can’t control. The discrimination and ignorance. When I was in a wheelchair, it wasn’t being in it that disabled me. It was the environment and how it wasn’t built with those who use a different mode of transport. There are only certain areas of the street where it is possible to cross, and some pavements are too thin to manoeuvre.  Many buildings were inaccessible due to thin doors or lack of ramps. Store layouts are difficult to navigate, some without lifts and other means to access the whole building. Disability is characterised by the environment and attitude of other people, these are the things that limit us. We have modified our lives to fit our disability, it’s a shame society haven’t done the same.

12 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Medication: How it helped me

I realise that the majority of my posts are about Tourette's and Selective Mutism. However, I do have many other conditions and I feel it is important to talk about those, too. I was asked today about

When depression hides behind a smile

This is a very thought-provoking article regarding depression and the ways in which it hides behind a smile. The perception of individuals smiling despite their depression is that it isn't as bad or d

Covid-19 and Autism Friendliness

In the midst of this current crisis, the chaos in supermarkets has overshadowed the Autism friendliness that they all ensued only a few months before. Whilst I am fully aware that this change in clima

Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page